DCEB Students Win Multiple Awards in the Singapore Junior Water Prize Competition 2017

20 Jun 2017

A team of DCEB students were 1st RUNNER UP in Singapore Junior Water Prize (SJWP) Competition 2017 held at Ngee Ann Polytechnic from 25 – 26 May 2017. They won a cash award of $5,000, a trophy and Sembcorp Water Innovation Certificate for their project entitled “Green Microfiltration for Organic Wastewater”

The SJWP is a national competition organized by the Lien Foundation and Ngee Ann Polytechnic, and supported by the PUB, Singapore's national water agency. This year there were 40 teams under the Main Category, consisting of students from Junior Colleges and Polytechnics with maximum age of 19 years old, and 30 teams under the Under-15 Category. The panels of judges, consisted of academics from local universities and professionals from PUB and Sembcorp Industries Pte Ltd.

Due to the value of research in this competition, good team work, aspiration, resilience and time management between supervisor and students and also among students are the key factors of success. Working hard during the early stages of the project is very important before half of the team went for their industrial attachment.
This is the first time DCEB students have participated in the SJWP, continuing the success of DEWT students in previous years under the same lecturer in charge. The SP team consisted of Eugene Chin Ze Zhao, Ayu Surya Binte Zainuddin and Koh Wee Chen supervised by Dr Handojo Djati Utomo (ABE) and co-supervised by Dr Liu Qishan (ABE). 

Participating in SJWP is a challenging and long process as the project itself must have an r & D value. The selected students require close supervision at each stage, from preparation, literature review, reporting, project execution until final presentation. In addition to the advancement in science and engineering knowledge, the students were also able to develop their presentation skills from Mr Julian Kwok (CASS).

SP(ABE) team supervised by (from right) Dr Handojo Djati Utomo, Ayu Surya Binte Zainuddin, Koh Wee Chen and Eugene Chin Ze Zhao. Photo taken at Ngee Ann Polytechnic Campus on 27 May 2017
Chat with us