AFECA Asia MICE Youth Challenge 2023

Established in 2005, the Asian Federation of Exhibition and Convention Associations (AFECA) aims to strengthen the Meetings, Incentives, Conventions, and Exhibitions (MICE) industry in Asia. With a membership of over 155 organisations spanning 19 nations/regions, AFECA plays a pivotal role in fostering collaboration and development in the region.

The AFECA Asia MICE Youth Challenge (AAMYC) has evolved significantly since its inception in 2015. Following the success of the last two online editions in 2021 and 2022, the 8th edition returned as an in-person event, hosted in Bangkok, Thailand on November 22, 2023.

Opened to undergraduate students in MICE, Business Events, Business Management, Hospitality and Tourism-related fields, AAMYC2023 served as a platform for emerging talents to demonstrate their creativity and convince judges why their respective countries stand out as premier MICE destinations in Asia. Participating teams were tasked with conceptualising, business-testing, and organising a component of MICE, highlighting the unique features and facilities of their countries.

A total of 24 teams from 11 AFECA member countries/regions, including China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Macau, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, and Thailand, competed in AAMYC2023. Participants expressed fulfilment and described the competition as a rewarding experience that provided a unique opportunity to connect with peers from different countries, inspiring ideas and sharing their passion for the MICE industry.


Singapore Polytechnic sent two teams to represent Singapore in AAMYC2023.

Team SP - AIOS won the 1st Runner-Up Prize, while Team SP - Circular Future Asia Pacific 2025 won the Special Recognition Prize.

AFECA MICE Challenges 2023

1st Runner-Up (Team on left): AIOS (All-In-One-Sports)

First row

1st from left:     DEPM/2B/03                 Te Wan Yi

2nd from left:    DEPM/3B/02                 Rukhshana Binte Mahboob Ali

Second row

1st from left:     DEPM/2B/03                 Zinc Lim Qian Yi 

2nd from left:    DEPM/3B/02                 Justin Ang Yong Jie

3rd from left:    Lecturer-in-charge       Enzio Tang


Special Recognition Award (Team on right): Circular Future Asia Pacific 2025

First row

1st from right:  DEPM/3B/01                Erica Ong Yi Jing

2nd from right: DEPM/3B/02                Jacelynn Dhammaputri Yu

Second row

1st from right:  DEPM/2B/02                Isaac Lam Guo Xiong

2nd from right:  DEPM/2B/04                Celest Neo Qiao Yu

3rd from right:  Lecturer-in-charge      Goh-Tan Chor Luan


SP Sustainability Matters