Students from three different engineering diplomas worked together to take home top prizes and $3,000 cash in the Singapore Amazing Flying Machine Competition.

It was another amazing year and déjà vu of sorts. SP students from the Diplomas in Aerospace Electronics (DASE)Aeronautical Engineering (DARE), and Electrical and Electronic Engineering (DEEE) - Bonnibelle Hoo, Damian Cheng, Jonas Hii, Liew Rong Wei and Yap Feng Wei – once again clinched the Category E Overall Champion title in the Singapore Amazing Flying Machine Competition 2013 (SAFMC). This category was open to the public and called for the design of a flying machine using unconventional air platforms that could fly within a confined outdoor area. Calling themselves Bonnibelle and Friends, each team member took home an iPad each and a total cash prize of $3,000.

The SAFMC, organised by DSO National Laboratories, is the largest flying machine competition in Singapore and is known as the nationwide hunt for a flying wonder! It challenges anyone who dares to dream and design a flying machine like no other. Fun activities and dedicated clinic sessions gave participants a boost in creativity and problem solving while developing their flying machines.

Bonnibelle and Friends were not the only winners from SP. Our engineering students made a great showing at the competition overall. Four other teams won awards:

Team SPAVC (3rd place for Performance and Best Video in Category E): Chua Yong Chun, Mohd Azman Bin Ahmad Said and Ryan Tan from DARE, and Lau Shing Hin from DASE.

Team Starobot (Silver for Best Presentation in Category D2): Gerald Heng, Choi Lai Hin, Yi Hong, Ker Kay Chin and Seow Chen Jiat Denis from DASE.

Team iFly (Gold for Theory of Flight in Category D): Pyae Phyo Tun, Loh Jin and Chew Shu Jun from DEEE.

Team UAViator (Silver for Most Creativity and Best Video in Category E): Stevano, Chan Kai Wen, Ang Chu Yi Beverley, Pheh Ying Hong (alumnus) and Lim Wei Rong from DASE.

Creators of the amazing flying machine (from left): Damian Cheng, Jonas Hii, Yap Feng Wei and Bonnibelle Hoo. Absent in picture: Liew Rong Wei.

(From left):  Team Starobot members Gerald Heng, Yi Hong, Choi Lai Hin and Denis Seow, together with Team iFly members Chew Shu Jun, Pyae Phyo Tun and Loh Jin.  Starobot member Ker Kay Chin is not in the picture.


Back to Achievements


School:School of Electrical & Electronic Engineering
Tel: (65)-67751133
Course Manager:Mr Danny Lee Meng Tuck
Tel:(65) 6870 8029
Fax:(65) 6772-1974
General Enquiries:contactus@sp.edu.sg
Social Media


Computer Engineering (S53)
Electrical & Electronic Engineering (S99)
Energy Systems & Management (S45)
Engineering with Business (S42)
Engineering Systems (S33)


Chat with us